Once Upon A Time – A Starting Point

This next project involves the re-telling, re-constructing, re-interpreting of a classic fairytale or folktale and producing a contemporary verse. . You can also use a word or pharse (which we shall be expanding on next week).

We are being asked to produce an artefact that develops the re-telling of the tale and the elements taking place in the story.  Using as many different media applications to explore, develop and futher.  Such as web applications and new media sites : Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, Youtube, Google Maps, Flickr.

Also I could use photographs, illustrations, video and audio to display the narrative of the tale. There are many ways to display the re-constructed tale in a new contemportary style. It overwhelmes me sometimes how much software and how many applications there are avaible, which makes distributing projects and products such as this easier to get out there. 

In the workshop we discussed the ideas we had and what our thoughts were reguarding this project. I felt a little aprensive at first as I had not done a lot of my own research which is probably why I didnt feel very confident talking about any ideas. However being in the workshop gave me time to begin my researching into fairy tales or folk tales that I could develop. I firstly began looking at fairy tales amd trying to find the orginal stories and finding out how they have been developed. I was encouraged by the lecture this morning as I found out that many fairy tales have been constantly changed and developed through the years, which surprised me at first because when we heard these stories as kids I presumed that , that was the story and it had never came to me that the story could have been developed and re-contructed giving it a whole different meaning.

 

About allyprentice2810

I am a young media proffesional, experimenting with different mediums of media to find my niche. Studying Media Production at Coventry University.
This entry was posted in Creating Impact. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

