Studio Session’s – Being Risky…

On Monday 28th March we had our first studio session without supervision. During this studio session I wanted to experiment with sound as much as I could because this was the perfect opportunity to experiment to see what we could do with the sound. I wasnt sure how things were going to go but I got the equipment out of the loan shop : Two Rode Blimp plus Microphones, Three sets of clip mics (2 presenters, one guest) and lots of XLR cables.

 

Clip Mic’s. ( Left)

Setting up the microphones. (right, Bottom Left)

XLR Cables (Bottom Right)

 

 

Myself setting up microphones.                     Gurraj, Myself and Giselle in Gallery.

Clip Mic Experiment

The clip mic’s were pretty simple to use they literally just involved plugging an XLR cable into the bottom of the mic and then into the wall socket. They did need to have a longer xlr cable though, because of the presenters moving around the set this meant that they needed to have enough flexibility to move. However this then lead us to have major problems with wires because there were already camera wires already on the floor, plus  the extra wires from the clip mics meant there were too many wires and it caused a lot of problems for the cameras. The clip mic had many benefits but the wires are a big problem and I’m not sure how we can work around it.

I am trying to research into other ways to use clip mics but with minimum wires possible, as the loan shop don’t have any kind of wireless clip mics I could use radio microphones but I’m not sure yet as to how they would work and if it would work. However it is possibility which I will look into for when we retreat back after easter and carry out some more experiments untill I have solved the issue.  I decided to use two microphones this time instead of just one, I placed them at opposite sides of the presenters to explore the difference in sound levels, obviously it was better having two microphones and with the clip mics the quality of sound I felt was good. I have spoken to James about my thoughts on the experiment during this session and we both deciding the next step would be to try three microphones and possibly some boom mics and work from there. At the moment we are still working through the experimental stages and trying to see whats available in terms of equipment and what works well and what doesn’t.

Thursday 31st March

During our next studio session, I experienced several problems with the sound which were challenging to deal with but I think myself and James did our best to work around it and solve the issues as best we could. We experimented with using three microphones this time as planned, however we had problems with the microphones as no sound was being projected through the sound mixer. We both made sure that the xlr cables were inserted properly and also changed the wires to check if it was not just a faulty wire however this did not help the problem. I then decided to change which socket the wires were inserted too as I know from previous work in the studio that socket 2 and 3 have worked before and are usually the most used sockets. We managed to get sound out of two of the microphones but the third one wasnt working, we don’t know if there was a problem with the microphone itself or the wire however because of time schedules I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to correct the problem. As we were running through the program, It was wasting valuable time trying to fix the microphone when we had already had two working fine. I wasnt happy with the sound during this studio recording and now feel slightly concerned I want to make sure that problems such as these don’t happen again especially not leading up to the live show.

One of my main concerns at the moment is that both of the presenters speak in different sound levels, Matt is much louder than Sophie and this is hard to control when they are both coming through on the same microphone. I hope to be able to set up with James’s help a way of controlling Matt’s level and Sophie’s level separately to see if this would help solve the problem. At the moment both Matt and Sophie’s sound is coming through as one sound which makes it hard to control if Matt speaks loud and then Sophie speaks quiet it means the sound levels are constantly up and down and I dont think it sounds right. I am not sure if I am right in thinking this but I feel it could become a problem leading up to the live show. Therefore If I can try to solve the issue before the week leading up to the live show then It wont be a problem and If I am wrong, making a matter of nothing it still helps attune my ears to sound levels. I am not sure yet how to work around this problem, when we used the clip mics this helped me to control both matt and Sophie but because of the complications I am at a bit of a loss as to what I can do. I was thinking we could use boom mic’s and having one next to both Matt and Sophie as they would be higher up in comparison to the microphones that are on the studio floor this could have a positive outcome. Obviously there is only one way to find out how best this idea works, so I shall keep you posted on how well this pans out. I hope to do this experiment as soon as we get back and also by then I hope to have come up with a way around the clip mics issue.

I also need to start considering VT’s and hopefully begin practising with controlling the levels during the show. I have been including it in the practice run through but we only used practiced VT’s a few times and do not do this every time. I am feeling a little anxious because when we go come back after easter we will not have much time left in the studio and I havent experimented with bringing VT’s in and out and bringing the studio sound back in. I have spoken to my producer about this and I will get onto it when we go back, the more practice I can get the more confident I will feel when it comes to the live show.

Script we have been working on, It’s only a basic practice script although it is based on our final concept. It just helps the presenters get into character and practice working together.

VIDEO AUDIO

<OPENING CREDITS VT> Theme Music

<CAMERA 2 WIDE SLOW ZOOM TO

TWO SHOT>

SOPHIE

O Hello. We were just playing with

these plasticine models.

<CAMERA 3 CLOSE UP OF MATT’S

MODEL>

MATT

I’m just playing with Snake head

McSnee. He’s a crazy fella. Look at

his mohican and devilish fangs.

SOPHIE

And I was just playing with this

monster’s claw.

<CAMERA 3 CLOSE UP SOPHIE’S

MODEL>

SOPHIE

Check out the hairy hand and sharp

nails.

<CAMERA 3 MID SHOT MATT> MATT

Ooo, they are very scary and would be

very risky indeed if they were real.

SOPHIE> SOPHIE

Oh it would be very risky if you were

face to face with these. Let’s have a

look at what else would be risky should

you be face to face with.

<CUT TO VT>

<VT FADE OUT TO CAMERA 2

ASHOT OF SOPHIE>

SOPHIE

Come Mr. Snuggleworthy.

<CAMERA 1 CLOSE UP OF MR.

SNUGGLEWORTHY>

SOPHIE

Ooo look how cute and fluffy he is.

Now this is a very non-risky animal and

very safe to handle.

<CAMERA 3 MID SHOT OF MATT

AND FIN FINNY FIDDLE>

MATT

Whoa. Easy there Fin Finny Fiddle.

SOPHIE

That’s a very risky animal you have

there. Why do you have such a risky

critter, Matt?

VIDEO AUDIO

2

<CAMERA 3 MID SHOT MATT> MATT

Well Sophie, you would think he’s

risky, but he is actually getting

better.

SOPHIE

He is?

MATT

Yes. I’ve given him several sweets.

<CAMERA 3 CLOSE UP FIN> MATT

Look at him. He’s falling asleep now.

See he’s as good as Mr. Snuggleworthy

now.

SOPHIE

So by given fierce animals sweets,

<CAMERA 1 CLOSE UP MR.

SNUGGLEWORTHY>

SOPHIE

You can make them as good as Mr.

Snuggleworthy?

<CAMERA 3 MID SHOT MATT> MATT

You sure can Sophie. Infact let’s have

a look more risky animals after taking

some sweets.

<CUT TO VT>

<CUE CAMERAS TO REPOSITION

FOR PILL SCENE>

<FADE OUT VT TO CAMERA 2

CLOSE UP OF PILLS TO WIDE

SHOT>

<CAMERA 1 MID SHOT MATT> MATT

O look sweets. I wonder if I should

have one.

SOPHIE

No. Don’t have one, Matt. You don’t

know what they are.

VIDEO AUDIO

3

<CAMERA 1 MID SHOT MATT> MATT

Yes I do. They’re are lovely scrummy

sweets. Look how good they look.

<CAMERA 3 CLOSE UP PILLS>

SOPHIE

Just because they look good it doesn’t

mean they are good for you.

MATT

It doesn’t?

SOPHIE> SOPHIE

No, Silly. You should never touch

things that you don’t know what they

are, especially things that look like

sweets.

<CAMERA 2 WIDE SHOT> MATT

But I gave Fin Finny Fiddle some sweets

earlier that I found.

SOPHIE

O yeah forgot to say. Fin Finny

Fiddle died because of a drug

overdose. Did no one tell you?

<CAMERA 1 CLOSE UP MATT> MATT

So that means he died because of my

stupidity…

<CAMERA 2 WIDE> MATT

…O well. So I’ve learned today that

you shouldn’t eat sweets.

<CAMERA 3 MID SHOT SOPHIE> SOPHIE

No. You learned today that you should

leave things alone, if you don’t know

what they are.

MIDSHOT MATT> MATT

O yes that’s it, leave things alone as

they are dangerous and a huge risk to

your life.

VIDEO AUDIO

4

<CAMERA 2 TWO SHOT TO WIDE> SOPHIE

Well said Matt. That’s we have time

for today.

MATT

Yeah so take care. Goodbye.

<FADE TO END CREDITS> Theme Music

http://dickenrichards.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/children-risks.pdf – Script also on dicken’s blog.

About allyprentice2810

I am a young media proffesional, experimenting with different mediums of media to find my niche. Studying Media Production at Coventry University.
This entry was posted in CREATING IMPACT - "Net TV" 161MC - Module. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Studio Session’s – Being Risky…

  1. sunil92 says:

    That the script? Needs sound and lighting controls in there to lol

  2. That’s the script from monday’s studio session. The one we’ve been using as a practice script. 🙂 haha yeah don’t worry dicken will include us in the real one lol x

Leave a Reply

